‘Sparkly Pumpkin Bubble Bar’ by Lush

Today’s review is on another Lush Halloween product (and my last one for now). It is the ‘Sparkly Pumpkin Bubble Bar’ and it is vegan and cruelty free of course. You’ve probably guessed that it looks like a pumpkin and you aren’t wrong. You’ve probably also guessed it’s sparkly and indeed, you’d be correct there too. This means the dreaded glitter. Now I know glitter is actually extremely popular with most people. I don’t know why I particularly dislike it. It’s probably because it can be a nightmare to get rid of and I worry it will irritate my skin if I am soaking in it. In fact, glitter bothers me so much that I actively avoided using this bubble bar as I was convinced it would be traumatic for me. I was quite surprised though as you will see . . .

15094267_417490088640394_795794067852945250_n

This is the first bubble bar I have reviewed on here. They vary from bath bombs, in that you crumble them into a running bath. They are basically solid bubble bath. They are still good for your skin and can sometimes change the colour of your bath water, like bath bombs. They produce a fantastic amount of bubbles if used correctly. If the bubble bar is particularly large, I often just use half (like I sometimes do with bath bombs). As bubble bars are designed to crumble, this makes it really easy to save some for another time.

The ‘Sparkly Pumpkin Bubble Bar’ was a lot better than I had anticipated. On crumbling it in my bath, I realised it wasn’t glitter all the way through (hurrah!) but only on the outside. That immediately made way for the possibility of enjoying this bath. Inside of the bubble bar is a bright, solid orange colour. Quite beautiful. I used the whole bar as it isn’t particularly big, and watched my bath water turn a dark orange colour.

15095534_417491085306961_6780071038262294246_n-1

On observation, I found there was hardly any glitter in the bath water. In fact, when cupping my hands full of water I couldn’t really spot any and it didn’t linger on my skin afterwards to my knowledge. I expected this bath to have quite a strong scent, despite the bar not smelling of much. Unfortunately I found it didn’t seem to smell of anything! Of course this made me double check the ingredients out of interest. It contains grapefruit, juniperberry and lime oils which did surprise me, as I thought it would be more pungent.

Overall it makes for a nice bath due to the colour and bubbles but doesn’t smell of very much at all.

6/10

‘Sparkly Pumpkin Bubble Bar’ is available at all Lush UK retailers during October. Please bear in mind stocks will be limited.

Leave a comment