The Vegan Kind’s November Beauty Box

Welcome to The Vegan Kind’s November Beauty Box review. As always, this month’s box was a delight to open and I thoroughly enjoyed trying out all products. For those that don’t know, The Vegan Kind’s Beauty Box is available to subscribers every three months and all products are guaranteed to at least total the amount you pay for it.

tvknovemberbeautybox

20p from every Beauty Box is donated to the Dr. Hadwen Trust who are the UK’s leading non-animal medical research charity. They fund and promote alternative research methods, rather than animal test. DHT award grants to places such as universities, hospitals and researchers after a thorough selection procedure. Since 1971 they have awarded grants to aid research in studies for Alzheimer’s, cancer, asthma, diabetes, disease of the kidney, heart or liver and many more.

tvkbeautyboxnovember

Let’s get down to the products now. I have a helper today in the form of a new rattie friend called Rembrandt AKA Remy, who is now Arturo’s new friend (he lost his brother recently). First up, we have Maggie Anne ‘Gel Effect Nail Varnish’ which I am actually currently wearing. It usually costs £10.50 so it’s not a cheap option but I think it’s worth every penny. It’s slightly thicker than normal nail varnishes because of the gel effect it provides, so two thin layers are usually required. Personally, I have found it long lasting and I am impressed that it hasn’t chipped yet (I have awful luck with chipped nail varnish). The gel effect is also spot on and I really like the colour it came in (which is called ‘Jasper’ and quite a nude shade). All of Maggie Anne’s nail varnish is vegan and toxin-free. They have a wide variety of shades and have kindly supplied TVK subscribers with a discount code. 8/10

maggieannenailvarnish.jpg

This month we saw another product by Human + Kind. This time it’s a body scrub that comes in their beautiful packaging. The three-in-one body scrub softens, smooths and revitalises your skin whilst exfoliating at the same time to remove dead skin cells. It’s delicately fragranced with what I can only describe as a slight grapefruit/citrus smell. It’s ideal before using self-tan products and complimentary during the winter months. Human + Kind ‘Body Scrub’ retails at £13.50. 9/10

humanandkindbodyscrub.jpg

Inecto Naturals ‘Little Saviour Coconut Hand and Nail Cream’ comes in a standard 75ml bottle that generally costs £1.00. I love the Inecto range. Their products smell divine and are cruelty free and vegan. They are also pretty easy to obtain in pound shops I have found! So I wasn’t surprised to discover this hand cream is one of the best I have used. I can’t stand greasy hand cream and feeling like my hands are coated in it so I am always weary. Inecto Naturals ‘Little Saviour Coconut Hand and Nail Cream’ however, is lightweight and non-greasy, yet nourishing and moisturising. It’s a great size to pop in your bag and carry around with you and the coconut smell is absolutely amazing as always. I will be using this one in future. It’s kind to the animals, kind to the environment, kind to you AND kind to your wallet. What more could you want? 10/10

inectococonuthandcream.jpg

Next we have PHB Ethical Beauty ‘Peach Lip Liner’. Now I wasn’t too sure about the colour if I’m honest. If you know me, you know if I wear lip stick it will be in an unusual, bold colour such as blue or green. However, I do occasionally wear a nude lip so I was happy to incorporate this pencil into that colour scheme somehow. The colour is matte and long-lasting and this particular shade is a sort of dusky peach colour. You can use it just to line your lips like I do, or you can actually apply it all over like a lipstick or even underneath a lipstick! It’s very versatile. The colour is richly pigmented and moisturising which I did notice and really appreciated. Plant oils and waxes soften lips and nourish them which also helps with a smooth and easy application. PHB Ethical Beauty ‘Peach Lip Liner’ RRP’s at £8.95 which is more than I would normally pay for a pencil of any kind. The quality is very good though I think I would prefer a different colour next time. 7/10

phblipcrayon

We have come to one of my favourites: Dr. Organic ‘Moroccan Argan Oil Body Wash’. I was a bit gutted it was only the 75ml sized bottle in this month’s box as I generally love their products. This wash smells absolutely incredible. I was actually very surprised as how much I liked it because I haven’t been overwhelmed by any argan oil products before. The wash leaves you feeling regenerated and invigorated. It hydrates your skin and leaves you smelling fabulous. Dr. Organic ‘Moroccan Argan Oil’ is rich in vitamins, antioxidants and essential fatty acids. The argan oil is blended with organic aloe vera, clove oil, wild mint oil, orange peel extract and vanilla fruit extract. This product is a treat for your senses, not just your skin. It costs around £2.99 for 75ml and is available in Holland and Barrett. 9/10

drorganicarganoilbodywash

Amie Naturally Kind ‘Morning Dew Matte-Finish Moisturiser’ is made out of high quality plant extracts that help keep your skin clear, soft and radiant. This came in a 10ml bottle, but a full size bottle usually costs £4.95. I generally rate Amie’s products, having only discovered them via TVK, but I am sorry to say I did not like this moisturiser. Despite it supposedly being matte-finish, I found it greasy and oily. It made my skin look it too. I do have combination skin and I do struggle to find face products that harmonise with my skin, but even ones that don’t comply are never normally as bad as this. This moisturiser uses natural plant sugars to hydrate the skin, rosehip and bilberry to nourish and soften, and orange and lemon blossom to to control excess oil and shine. I feel so disappointed as I love their face wash and I was so excited when I opened my box to see an Amie product that could potentially help my oily skin. Their products are all PH balanced, vegan and cruelty free, free-from parabens, minerals oils, petrochemicals, plastic micro-beads and other nasties. Amie’s products are suitable for sensitive skin and made in the UK. TVK Beauty Box subscribers have also received a whopping 50% off discount code with this box. 4/10

amiemattemoisturiser.jpg

We have arrived at our last product which is actually a sample pouch of Faith In Nature’s ‘Watermelon Shampoo’. I wish we had received a bottle as this smells every bit as good as you are probably imagining! Watermelon helps to hydrate and moisturise hair and skin, whilst smelling juicy and mouth-watering. Organic glycerine has been added to aid moisture retention. I love the Faith In Nature range because their products are excellent quality and presented in beautiful, eye-catching packaging. They always smell amazing too. It will cost you around £5.50 for a full size bottle of this watermelon shampoo, but I have found prices vary if you shop around. 8/10

watermelonshampoofaithinnature.jpg

Overall Beauty Box rating: 8/10

That’s the end of my review for The Vegan Kind’s November Beauty Box. I hope you’ve enjoyed reading. I should have a new review up before Christmas of the next TVK monthly lifestyle box.

Leave a comment